midlifedude

Man at midlife making second half matter

12 Things I Learned from Writing and Self-Publishing My First Novel

12 simple lessons I learned, and am still learning, through writing my first novel, Three Yards and a Plate of Mullet. The story follows an overmatched, rookie sportswriter in Florida covering a season of high school football in a football-mad, semi-backwater town who runs up against a powerful coach from a dynastic family who just may have orchestrated a bribe to get the best athletes redistricted to his school.

  1. If you have difficulty adopting long-term views or goals, try to adapt or don’t bother starting.
  2. There is such a thing as “powering through” with willpower when it comes to writing; it’s just a different type of pain.
  3. Taking public transportation to work is a good way to get a lot of writing done.
  4. You don’t have to plan out your whole plot and every detail – but having a basic idea of a story sequence helps speed the process.
  5. One of the hardest things about fiction-writing was remembering details about plot, characters and scenes that were written one or two years prior, to ensure story lines and plot connections were logical and to avoid sloppy errors.
  6. The Chicago Manual of Style is more a hindrance than a help in many instances.
  7. It’s a good idea to have Beta readers for pre-publication feedback. I didn’t, but will find them next time.
  8. Writing a self-published novel as a first-time, unknown author is an extremely difficult way to make money, so you better have a passion for the act and the process.
  9. I didn’t realize the importance of having or building a “platform” to market and sell a novel, but now that I’ve self-published, it appears essential for success.
  10. I’m glad I self-published despite much popular wisdom that says only traditionally published novels optioned by an agent bestow credibility on the novel and author. Publishing house acquisition is a long road to hoe, and immediate gratification rather than posthumous glory was my desire.
  11. I signed up with the first self-publisher I researched, and would recommend CreateSpace to others based on my experience.
  12. There are many people in the U.S. Very few care that you wrote a book. It’s your job to find a few more who will care…then a few more, and a few more.  ThreeYardsCover
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “12 Things I Learned from Writing and Self-Publishing My First Novel

  1. I love four and five! Also, if you ever need any help with platform building, feel free to give me a shout and I’ll be happy to give some pointers that have worked for me.

    • Hi Drae, thanks for reading. Yes I could use advice on platform building. I’m in PR and have been a journalist, but this is a whole different ball game. Just trying to be persistent and consistent, but all in spare time. Let me know if something worked for you.

      • Heya! There’s a lot of things that have helped me. My experiences so far have proven that interaction/engagement is key. Here is a resource I wrote last week for my email subscribers though, as a building block for them. Maybe it will help you too? http://bit.ly/draes5tips

Leave a Reply

